The Electricity in this Room

I’ll stay right where I belong,
safe and inert,
between the words
and a question mark.
I’ll be there when you call me.
I’m not going anywhere.
I’ll be right where you left me:
right where you left.

You take the medicine
that helps you sleep,
and put those demons away
for a while at least.
No one to tuck you in
they’ll just stay in between
your sheets and your
breastbone.

You look so lovely tonight
I think I’ll spend the whole night
staring at your photographs.

I don’t belong here.

I don’t deserve this.

Leave a Reply

