A Girl I Used to Know

Once I had a lesson
from a girl I used to know,
She said, “Boy, you’d best not be messin’
with the things that you don’t know
about,

Like girls and boys and loving
when the summer is still young,
because we both know that fall is coming
and we won’t dare say it
aloud.”

We’re scared of what it means.
Scared of what we’d bring to the table
that’s set for two, but
There’s only one tonight.

So I level with the waiter
saying, “Leave the plate and cup
I don’t know if company’s comin’
but my heart says don’t give up
on it.

Every thing I wait for
seems to take a while
so I’ll just sit here at the table
and drink away the miles
tonight.”

Leave a Reply

